LibGuides: Physics Resources: Accelerator/High Energy/Particle Physics and Plasma Physics

Accelerator/High Energy/Particle Physics

Accelerator Conference Proceedings
The Joint Accelerator Conference (JACoW) website for the Asian, European and American Particle Accelerator Conferences, as well as the CYCLOTRONS, DIPAC, ICALEPCS and LINAC conferences and more.
DOE User Facilities for High Energy Physics
More information on three DOE High-Energy Physics User facilities
Online Particle Physics Information
This guide organizes online catalogs, databases, directories, webpages, etc., that are of value to the particle physics community. Hosted by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC).
Particle Accelerators Around the World
List maintained by the particle accelerator group at Bonn University.
Particle Data Group
"The PDG is an international collaboration that reviews Particle Physics and related areas of Astrophysics, and compiles/analyzes data on particle properties." Includes the Review of Particle Physics.
Quantum Diaries
Thoughts on work and life from particle physicists from around the world.
The U.S. Particle Accelerator School
The US Particle Accelerator School provides educational programs in the field of beams and their associated accelerator technologies. It is run by a consortium of 10 national labs.

Plasma Phyiscs

Plasma on the Internet
Resources on plasma science from the website of the Plasma Laboratory-Weizmann Institute of Science.
The Plasma Physics Formulary
"The NRL (Naval Research Laboratory) Plasma Formulary has been the mini-Bible of plasma physicists for the past 25 years. It is an eclectic compilation of mathematical and scientific formulas, and contains physical parameters pertinent to a variety of plasma regimes, ranging from laboratory devices to astrophysical objects."

Books

Particle Accelerator Physics by Helmut Wiedemann
ISBN: 9783540490456
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
This book provides an in-depth and comprehensive introduction to the field of high-energy particle acceleration and beam dynamics. This is the first modern and comprehensive textbook in the field. It begins by gathering the basic tools, recalling the essentials of electrostatics and electrodynamics as well as of particle dynamics in electromagnetic fields. It includes coverage of advanced topics of coupled beam dynamics. There is an exhaustive treatment of radiation from accelerated charges.
Handbook of Accelerator Physics and Engineering by Alexander Wu Chao
Call Number: QC787.P3H36 2013
ISBN: 9814415847
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Edited by internationally recognized authorities in the field, this expanded and updated new edition of the bestselling Handbook, containing more than 100 new articles, is aimed at the design and operation of modern particle accelerators.
Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion by Francis F. Chen
Call Number: QC718.C39 2016
ISBN: 9783319223087
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
This complete introduction to plasma physics and controlled fusion by one of the pioneering scientists in this expanding field offers both a simple and intuitive discussion of the basic concepts of this subject and an insight into the challenging problems of current research.
Theoretical Foundations of Synchrotron and Storage Ring RF Systems by Alexander Klingbeil; Harald Klingbeil; Ulrich Laier; Dieter Lens
ISBN: 9783319071886
Publication Date: 2014-09-10
This course-tested text is an ideal starting point for engineers and physicists entering the field of particle accelerators. The fundamentals are comprehensively introduced, derivations of essential results are provided and a consistent notation style used throughout the book allows readers to quickly familiarize themselves with the field, providing a solid theoretical basis for further studies.

Physics Databases

Web of Science
The Web of Science (WOS) indexes over 12,000 peer reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journals. Argonne's subscription includes access to the Science Citation Index (back to 1965), Social Science Citation Index (back to 1991), Emerging Sources Citation Index ESCI (back to 2005), and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (back to 1999).
Inspec
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Argonne's subscription is hosted on the Engineering Village platform. Coverage begins in 1898. This database is heavily indexed allowing for precise search and retrieval.
DOE Science Research Connection
The DOE's SRC database is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of international energy science and technology literature. Coverage begins in 1948. The Argonne subscription is limited to DOE employees and contractors. The information is provided by the U.S. DOE, its predecessor agencies (the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research & Development Administration), its contractors, other government agencies, professional societies, and through international agreements. Argonne technical reports announced to OSTI are included in this database. Visibility of reports may be limited depending on classification.