Physics Resources: Preprints / General Physics Resources
A variety of scholarly scientific resources on physics, including nuclear physics, atomic physics, X-rays, condensed matter physics, accelerator physics, high energy physics, optics, atmospheric physics and meteorology.
Open Access to over a million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics, hosted by Cornell University Library
Current set of self-consistent values of the basic constants and conversion factors of physics and chemistry recommended by the Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA).
The library now has access to the 96th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online. The CRC Handbook is an authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
Alphabetical index of physics definitions, derivations, equations, formulas, and figures. Created by Eric Weisstein, as part of Eric Weisstein's World of Science website. The site is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education.
Database created by the Science and Engineering Library of the State University of NY at Buffalo; Use this database to find out which Science & Engineering reference books contain properties data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) for particular types of materials.
"The Naval Research Laboratory Plasma Formulary has been the mini-Bible of plasma physicists for the past 25 years. It is an eclectic compilation of mathematical and scientific formulas, and contains physical parameters pertinent to a variety of plasma regimes, ranging from laboratory devices to astrophysical objects."
From the NIST Physics Laboratory. Several online databases in the areas of physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, and x-ray and gamma-ray data.
Advertiser supported, this website is the ultimate physics resource, and includes reference and educational resources, directories for physics departments and other organizations in physics, job listings, software, and a little bit of fun.
This webpage has the Periodic Table of Elements, plus additional tables that include physical and chemical property data, crystal structure data , compound data, as well as the history of each element in the Table.
The Web of Science (WOS) indexes over 12,000 peer reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journals. Argonne's subscription includes access to the Science Citation Index (back to 1965), Social Science Citation Index (back to 1991), Emerging Sources Citation Index ESCI (back to 2005), and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (back to 1999).
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Argonne's subscription is hosted on the Engineering Village platform. Coverage begins in 1898. This database is heavily indexed allowing for precise search and retrieval.
The DOE's SRC database is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of international energy science and technology literature. Coverage begins in 1948. The Argonne subscription is limited to DOE employees and contractors. The information is provided by the U.S. DOE, its predecessor agencies (the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research & Development Administration), its contractors, other government agencies, professional societies, and through international agreements. Argonne technical reports announced to OSTI are included in this database. Visibility of reports may be limited depending on classification.
