LibGuides: Physics Resources: Nuclear Physics and Atomic Physics

Nuclear Physics

Glossary of Nuclear Science Terms
National Nuclear Data Center
"Provides information on neutron, charged-particle, and photonuclear reactions, nuclear structure, and decay data." Includes Chart of Nuclides. Center is funded by DOE. The NNDC collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data.
Nuclear Experiment e-prints
Nuclear experiments e-prints from arXiv hosted by Cornell University Library
Nuclear Structure and Decay Data: NuBase with the Q-value Calculator
"NuBase is a compilation of ground and isomeric state properties for all known nuclides. The Q-value calculator can be used to display mass data from Audi-Wapstra's mass table and to calculate Q-values for nuclear reactions and decay." Use drop-down menu in the upper lefthand corner of the webpage to access the various functions of the calculator.
Q-value Calculator (QCalc)
Q-value calculator from the National Nuclear Data Center.
Nuclear Theory e-prints
Nuclear theory e-prints from arXiv hosted by Cornell University Library
Nuclear Data Center at KAERI
More information on nuclear particles, including a table providing data on the physical properties (especially decay and cross-section) of the nuclides.
US Nuclear Data Program
Assembles, maintains, and disseminates a unified body of nuclear data used to support basic nuclear research and a wide variety of nuclear applications. DOE funded project. Offers subject, user, education and organization views of the field. Annual reports and Work Plans linked. Site hosted by the National Nuclear Data Center at Brookhaven National Laboratory.

Atomic Physics

TOPbase User's Guide -- Opacity Project Atomic Data Database
TOPbase is a read-only database system specially designed for general use of the large volume of accurate atomic data, generated by the research groups involved in the Opacity Project.

Books

Introductory Nuclear Physics by Kenneth S. Krane
Call Number: QC173.H188 1988
ISBN: 047180553X
Publication Date: 1987-11-05
This comprehensive text provides an introduction to basic nuclear physics, including nuclear decays and reactions and nuclear structure, while covering the essential areas of basic research and practical applications.
Theoretical Nuclear and Subnuclear Physics by John Dirk Walecka
Call Number: QC793.3.S8W35 2004
ISBN: 9812387951
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
This book is a revised and updated version of the most comprehensive text on nuclear and subnuclear physics, first published in 1995. Four key topics are emphasized: basic nuclear structure, the relativistic nuclear many-body problem, strong-coupling QCD, and electroweak interactions with nuclei.
Atoms, Molecules and Photons by Wolfgang Demtröder
ISBN: 9783540323464
Publication Date: 2006-03-06
This introduction to Atomic and Molecular Physics explains how our present model of atoms and molecules has been developed during the last two centuries by many experimental discoveries and from the theoretical side by the introduction of quantum physics to the adequate description of micro-particles. It illustrates the wave model of particles by many examples and shows the limits of classical description.
Atomic Physics by Christopher J. Foot
Call Number: QC776.F66 2005
ISBN: 0198506953
Publication Date: 2005-02-10
This text will thoroughly update the existing literature on atomic physics. Intended to accompany an advanced undergraduate course in atomic physics, the book will lead the students up to the latest advances and the applications to Bose-Einstein Condensation of atoms, matter-wave interferometry and quantum computing with trapped ions.

Physics Databases

Web of Science
The Web of Science (WOS) indexes over 12,000 peer reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journals. Argonne's subscription includes access to the Science Citation Index (back to 1965), Social Science Citation Index (back to 1991), Emerging Sources Citation Index ESCI (back to 2005), and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (back to 1999).
Inspec
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Argonne's subscription is hosted on the Engineering Village platform. Coverage begins in 1898. This database is heavily indexed allowing for precise search and retrieval.
DOE Science Research Connection
The DOE's SRC database is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of international energy science and technology literature. Coverage begins in 1948. The Argonne subscription is limited to DOE employees and contractors. The information is provided by the U.S. DOE, its predecessor agencies (the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research & Development Administration), its contractors, other government agencies, professional societies, and through international agreements. Argonne technical reports announced to OSTI are included in this database. Visibility of reports may be limited depending on classification.