LibGuides: Physics Resources: X-Ray Physics and Synchrotrons

X-Ray Physics

BESAC - Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee
BESAC provides valuable, independent advice to the Department of Energy on the Basic Energy Sciences program regarding the complex scientific and technical issues that arise in the planning, management, and implementation of the program. See Charges/Reports link for many reports related to the DOE BES user facilities.
Center for X-Ray Optics
From the Materials Science Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), with work focusing on short wavelength optical systems and techniques.
EXAFS Database
From the International X-Ray Absorption Society; programs and subroutines for XAFS research
Free Electron Laser Research and Applications
Includes links to FEL operating facilities, FELs proposed and under development, and FEL conference links.
Gas Phase Core Excitation Database
This database contains over 600 gas phase core excitation spectra of more than 400 pure compounds recorded by dipole regime electron energy loss spectroscopy at McMaster University from 1984 to the present. Typical uses include help in identifying unknown species, and reference spectra for fitting spectra of mixtures, as encountered in X-ray or EELS spectromicroscopy.
LCLS: Linac Coherent Light Source
The LCLS, a single-pass x-ray free electron laser (X-FEL), is the world's first hard x-ray laser, 10 billion times brighter than synchrotrons. The LCLS is a multi-institutional collaboration involving SLAC, APS, BNL, LANL, LLNL, and UCLA.
Periodic Table of the Elements - X-Ray Properties
Calculations are based on data compiled by W. H.McMaster et. al.
X-Ray Absorption Coefficients
This is a program to calculate X-ray absorption coefficients, also edge energies, fluorescence yield; MUCAL on the Web
X-Ray Emmission Lines
K-level and L-level emission lines in KeV. Values are from J. A. Bearden, "X-Ray Wavelengths", Rev. Mod. Phys. (1967)
X-Ray Interactions with Matter
Includes atomic x-ray scattering factor files, x-ray properties of the elements, and more
X-Ray Server by Sergey Stepanov
This site provides free online access to X-ray data analysis programs developed by Sergey Stepanov (ANL/APS) for X-ray diffraction and scattering studies from materials.

Denver X-Ray Conference: Proceedings of the Annual Conference on Applications of X-Ray Analysis (Advances in X-ray Analysis series) by International Centre for Diffraction Data
Call Number: TA406.5.D416
The Library has a standing order to these proceedings.

X-Ray Physics/NIST

X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data from NIST
Resources on topics including attentuation, absorption, and scattering
X-Ray Attenuation and Absorption for Materials of Dosimetric Interest
from 1 keV to 20 MeV for Elements Z = 1 to 92 and 48 Additional Substances
XCOM: Photon Cross Sections Database
A web database is provided which can be used to calculate photon cross sections for scattering, photoelectric absorption and pair production, as well as total attenuation coefficients, for any element, compound or mixture (Z ≤ 100), at energies from 1 keV to 100 GeV.
Bibliography of Photon Attenuation Measurements
This bibliography contains papers (1907-1995) reporting absolute measurements of photon (XUV, x-ray, gamma-ray, bremsstrahlung) total interaction cross sections or attenuation coefficients for the elements and some compounds used in a variety of medical, industrial, defense, and scientific applications. The energy range covered is from 10 eV to 13.5 GeV.
X-Ray Form Factor, Attenuation & Scattering Tabulation
Detailed Tabulation of Atomic Form Factors, Photoelectric Absorption and Scattering Cross Section, and Mass Attenuation Coefficients for Z = 1-92 from E = 1-10 eV to E = 0.4-1.0 MeV

Synchrotrons

Advanced Photon Source APS
The Advanced Photon Source (APS) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory provides ultra-bright, high-energy storage ring-generated x-ray beams for research in almost all scientific disciplines.
European Synchrotron Radiation Facility ESRF
The ESRF is the world's most intense X-ray source and a centre of excellence for fundamental and innovation-driven research in condensed and living matter science. Located in Grenoble, France, the ESRF owes its success to the international cooperation of 21 partner nations, of which 13 are Members and 8 are Scientific Associates.
SPring-8
SPring-8 is a large synchrotron radiation facility which delivers the most powerful synchrotron radiation currently available. Located in Harima Science Garden City, Japan. The Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute (JASRI) is responsible for the management, operation and development of SPring-8.
Lightsources
"The international light source community, including the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory, has launched the first website dedicated to providing the media, general public, and scientific community with the latest news and information about and from the world’s accelerator-driven light sources (synchrotrons and free-electron lasers) and about the science carried out by users of these facilities." Access a current list of synchrotrons and free electron lasers worldwide under the "Light Sources of the World" tab.
Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource
At SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, in Menlo Park, CA, operated by Stanford University for the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science

Books

Elements of Modern X-Ray Physics by Des McMorrow; Jens Als-Nielsen
ISBN: 9780470973950
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Eagerly awaited, this second edition of a best-selling text comprehensively describes from a modern perspective the basics of x-ray physics as well as the completely new opportunities offered by synchrotron radiation.
Elements of Synchrotron Light by Giorgio Margaritondo
Call Number: QC793.5.E622M37 2002
ISBN: 0198509316
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
This book is structured by two-level presentation including a simple descriptive treatment and slightly more in-depth discussions of specific topics. The first-level treatment covers the notions, terminology and techniques that are required to use a synchrotron facility. The book is therefore an ideal first step for all those beginning to use synchrotron light for their work or are considering it. The treated topics include the basic functioning mechanisms of synchrotrons and free electron lasers a description of sychrotron-based techniques in x-ray imaging and radiology, spectroscopy, microscopy and spectromicroscopy, EXAFS, crystallography and scattering, and microfabrication.

Physics Databases

Web of Science
The Web of Science (WOS) indexes over 12,000 peer reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journals. Argonne's subscription includes access to the Science Citation Index (back to 1965), Social Science Citation Index (back to 1991), Emerging Sources Citation Index ESCI (back to 2005), and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (back to 1999).
Inspec
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Argonne's subscription is hosted on the Engineering Village platform. Coverage begins in 1898. This database is heavily indexed allowing for precise search and retrieval.
DOE Science Research Connection
The DOE's SRC database is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of international energy science and technology literature. Coverage begins in 1948. The Argonne subscription is limited to DOE employees and contractors. The information is provided by the U.S. DOE, its predecessor agencies (the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research & Development Administration), its contractors, other government agencies, professional societies, and through international agreements. Argonne technical reports announced to OSTI are included in this database. Visibility of reports may be limited depending on classification.