LibGuides: Physics Resources: Condensed Matter Physics and Superconductivity

Condensed Matter Physics

Condensed Matter E-Prints
A subset of arXiv, covers papers since 1992. There is a titles/authors index. Subject classes include: disordered systems and neural networks, materials science, mesoscale and nanoscale physics, superconductivity, etc.
ESS (European Spallation Source)
European Spallation Neutron Source, a next generation neutron source for Europe. Includes introduction, history and technical study of ESS. See Documentation link for activity reports as well as technical design reports.
Lectures on Superconductivity
From the Applied Superconductivity and Cryoscience Group at the University of Cambridge. All lectures are open access.
Neutron scattering lengths and cross sections
A neutron properties table from NIST. All the data were taken from the special section of the neutron scattering lengths and cross sections in Neutron News, vol. 3, no. 3, 1992. Contains only thermal neutron cross sections.
Neutron Scattering Society of America
The purpose of the Society shall be the advancement of neutron scattering research in the United States. Lists summer schools, workshops, and meetings in U.S. and overseas.
Neutronsources.org
This website aims to provide information about neutron facilities and neutron research worldwide.
Neutron Sources Worldwide
List created by NIST's Center for Neutron Research.
NIST Center for Neutron Research
The NCNR is part of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Gaithersburg, Maryland. Its activities focus on providing neutron measurement capabilities to the U.S. research community.
Spallation Neutron Source at ORNL
"SNS is a one-of-a-kind research facility that provides the most intense pulsed neutron beams in the world for scientific research and industrial development. SNS produces neutrons with an accelerator-based system that delivers short (microsecond) proton pulses to a target/moderator system, where neutrons are produced by a process called spallation. "
Superconductivity conferences
Conference listing from Superconductor Week website.
Superconductivity News
Latest news in superconductivity from Phys.org

Books

Elements of Slow-Neutron Scattering by J. M. Carpenter; C. -K. Loong
ISBN: 9780521857819
Publication Date: 2015-09-24
Providing a comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the theory and applications of slow-neutron scattering, this detailed book equips readers with the fundamental principles of neutron studies, including the background and evolving development of neutron sources, facility design, neutron scattering instrumentation and techniques, and applications in materials phenomena. Drawing on the authors' extensive experience in this field, this text explores the implications of slow-neutron research in greater depth and breadth than ever before in an accessible yet rigorous manner suitable for both students and researchers in the fields of physics, biology, and materials engineering.
Handbook of Superconductivity by Charles P. Poole; Richard J. Creswick; Horacio A. Farach
Call Number: QC611.924.P66 2000
ISBN: 0125614608
Publication Date: 1999-10-15
It covers both classic superconductivity-related topics and high Tc. Numerous properties, including thermal, electrical, magnetic, mechanical, phase diagrams, and spectroscopic crystallographic structures are presented for many types of superconductors.
Introduction to Solid State Physics by Charles Kittel
Call Number: QC171.K62 2005
ISBN: 047141526X
Publication Date: 2004-11-11
Since the publication of the first edition over 50 years ago, Introduction to Solid State Physics has been the standard solid state physics text for physics students.
Superconductivity by R. G. Sharma
Call Number: QC611.92.S53 2015
ISBN: 9783319137124
Publication Date: 2015-03-23
This book presents the basics and applications of superconducting magnets. It explains the phenomenon of superconductivity, theories of superconductivity, type II superconductors and high-temperature cuprate superconductors. The main focus of the book is on the application to superconducting magnets to accelerators and fusion reactors and other applications of superconducting magnets.

Physics Databases

Web of Science
The Web of Science (WOS) indexes over 12,000 peer reviewed multidisciplinary scientific journals. Argonne's subscription includes access to the Science Citation Index (back to 1965), Social Science Citation Index (back to 1991), Emerging Sources Citation Index ESCI (back to 2005), and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (back to 1999).
Inspec
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Argonne's subscription is hosted on the Engineering Village platform. Coverage begins in 1898. This database is heavily indexed allowing for precise search and retrieval.
DOE Science Research Connection
The DOE's SRC database is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of international energy science and technology literature. Coverage begins in 1948. The Argonne subscription is limited to DOE employees and contractors. The information is provided by the U.S. DOE, its predecessor agencies (the Atomic Energy Commission and the Energy Research & Development Administration), its contractors, other government agencies, professional societies, and through international agreements. Argonne technical reports announced to OSTI are included in this database. Visibility of reports may be limited depending on classification.