LibGuides: Engineering: Nuclear Engineering

Nuclear Engineering Books

Nuclear Engineering Handbook
Building upon the success of the first edition, the Nuclear Engineering Handbook, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of nuclear power engineering. Consisting of chapters written by leading experts, this volume spans a wide range of topics in the areas of nuclear power reactor design and operation, nuclear fuel cycles, and radiation detection. Plant safety issues are addressed, and the economics of nuclear power generation in the 21st century are presented. The Second Edition also includes full coverage of Generation IV reactor designs, and new information on MRS technologies, small modular reactors, and fast reactors.
Nuclear Reactor Physics
With its focus on conveying the in-depth knowledge needed by advanced student and professional nuclear engineers, this text is ideal for use in numerous courses and for self-study by professionals in basic nuclear reactor physics, advanced nuclear reactor physics, neutron transport theory, nuclear reactor dynamics and stability, nuclear reactor fuel cycle physics and other important topics in the field of nuclear reactor physics.

Encyclopedia of Energy by Cleveland, Cutler J. & Ayres, Robert U.
Call Number: TJ163.2.E394 2004

Publication Date: 2004

Contributions from over 400 authors provide a reference on current thinking and practice in the energy sector, as well as related environmental fields. It serves as a resource for students and researchers, as well as a guide for policy makers, consultants, and those working in business corporations and nongovernmental organizations.
Handbook of Nuclear Engineering by Cacuci, Dan Gabriel
Call Number: TK9151.H36 2010

ISBN: 9780387981307

Publication Date: 2010

The Handbook of Nuclear Engineering is an authoritative compilation of information regarding methods and data used in all phases of nuclear engineering. Addressing nuclear engineers and scientists at all academic levels, this five volume set provides the latest findings in nuclear data and experimental techniques, reactor physics, kinetics, dynamics and control. Readers will also find a detailed description of data assimilation, model validation and calibration, sensitivity and uncertainty analysis, fuel management and cycles, nuclear reactor types and radiation shielding. A discussion of radioactive waste disposal, safeguards and non-proliferation, and fuel processing with partitioning and transmutation is also included.
The Reactor Handbook by Argonne National Laboratory
Call Number: TK9202.U58

Publication Date: 1955

This three-volume work on reactor design by ANL researchers is still an important reference work in the field of nuclear engineering.

Nuclear Engineering Journals

Other Resources

International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. INIS is a unique and valuable information resource, offering global coverage of nuclear literature.

more... less...

INIS covers all areas of IAEA’s activities, including nuclear engineering and technology, nuclear safety and radiation protection, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear and isotope techniques, nuclear and high energy physics, nuclear and radiation chemistry, nuclear applications in life sciences, legal aspects, and environmental and economic aspects of nuclear and non-nuclear energy sources.
It maintains a multilingual thesaurus in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Russian and Spanish, providing translations of thousands of technical terms that help with navigating and searching the collection.
FIPD: Metallic Fuels Irradiation & Physics Database - access restricted
FIPD is an organized collection of metallic fuel test pin data and documentation. The database includes pin operation conditions calculated using a collection of ANL analysis codes developed during the IFR program, including axial distributions for power, temperatures, fluences, burnup, and isotopic densities. The database also contains pin measured data from post-irradiation examination, including pin fission gas release and gas chemistry measurements, and axial distributions from profilometry, gamma scans, and neutron radiography. There is also an extensive collection of documents associated with different pins and experiments, including raw PIE data, design descriptions, safety analysis, and operational reports.

more... less...

Access Restrictions
Technical information pertaining to the experiments has typically been described in limited-distribution experiment reports, conference proceedings, published journal articles, technical meeting transactions, calculated data. Because much of the content have US federally-imposed restrictions on their dissemination, access to different content in FIPD is determined on an individual basis.

Engineering

Professional Societies

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code

Nuclear Engineering Books

Nuclear Engineering Journals

Other Resources