Engineering

ASTM International, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), develops and delivers delivery international voluntary consensus standards. There are some 12,000 ASTM standards. Argonne has access to all ASTM standards documents available, including Active, Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards.

The IEEE Xplore database includes content back to 1988 from 180 journals, 1400 conferences and 2500 standards. Early Access articles are also available on the Xplore platform, in addition to the entire run of the Bell Labs Technical Journal.

IHS Industry Standards offers an online platform that simplifies and expedites the process for finding and managing standards and related information. IHS Standards Expert provides a single source of vetted engineering knowledge. The industry’s top standards management solution, it connects to the world’s largest collection of continuously updated engineering and technical reference documents from over 400 standards developing organizations and publishers. You can use the platform to see the history of a standard and determine the most current edition. The Argonne subscription to IHS includes the fulltext of several ANSI, ASME and ISO standards, including, but not limited to: ISO 9000, ISO 9001, ISO 9004, ISO 14001, ISO 15489-1, ASME B56.6, AQS standards, American Nuclear Society standards, ASME standards, ASME performance test code standards, and IEEE National Electrc Safety Code standards.

Accessible to beginners and experts, Espacenet contains data on more than 90 million patent documents from around the world. Supporting information can help you understand whether a patent has been granted and if it is still in force.

FreePatentsOnline, contains US, Japanese, German, EP, WIPO and some non-patent literature. Full-text is not available for some documents prior to 1976, and for a small number of documents after 1976. But FSP's US collection is more comprehensive than the USPTO's due to the incorporation of other data sources for US documents and their own OCR efforts.

The Unites States Patent Office issues patents in the United States, as should be patently obvious.