An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, this is a classic resource for the physical sciences, biology, geology and environmental science.
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. It offers a comprehensive database covering multiple material classes, property types, and applications. Enhanced data visualization features display interactive crystal structures, data tables, and phase diagrams with export options for further analysis. Search functions are optimized for materials science, offering options for elemental composition or chemical structure searching to quickly find material property data.
View, Analyse, and Understand Molecular Structures and Their Properties
See chemistry in 3D and generate high-definition, customized images, animations, and 3D models of molecules. Analyse chemical and physical properties with informatics-based insights drawn from empirical data in the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD).
To access the paid version of Mercury, you will need create an account with CCDC. After your account is created, you will need to access the Licence Portal page. The Argonne Customer Number is 1408. Please email librarians@anl.gov for the current Activation Key (this number changes each calendar year).
Once you have entered that information, you will access the Mercury download here: https://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/support-and-resources/downloads/ If you have administrative privileges on your computer, you should be able to complete the download and install process yourself. If you do not have admin privileges, you will need to contact the BIS Service Desk to have them assist you with completing the download and install.
Allows you to search by CAS number and find extensive information about chemicals including molecular weights, synonyms, structure, and spectras, either mass or infrared.
Can be searched by registry number, molecular formula, chemical name or synonyms. Also searchable by properties like melting point, density, refractive index, etc. Has an easy-to-use structure/substructure search feature. Provides physical and chemical characteristics and structures. Some MSDS and supplier information is also included.
ChemIDplus is a database of chemical records, most with structures. Locator links allow immediate searching of other databases for information about a given chemical. A new ChemIDplus Lite version is available for Name and RN searching without the need for plugins or applets.
Database with the intent of aggregating and indexing chemical structures, names, and properties. Single repository made available at no cost. From the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Free interactive database of synthetic chemistry. Includes reliable organic, organometallic and inorganic chemical synthesis and reactions. From the Royal Society of Chemistry.
From NIST, a free data collection of thermophysical and crystallographic properties of clathrate hydrates. In addition, this website allows access to the results from the Mallik 2002 Gas Hydrate Production Research Well Program, an international collaboration aimed at exploring the technical feasibility of extracting natural gas from gas hydrate deposits in the Canadian permafrost.
Easy to use substance / property indices in various formats (pdf, html and Scidex database with graphical structure search) help to find the desired information within more than 330 volumes, and more than 48,000 documents. The Argonne Research Library has many LB volumes in the Reference collection. The Library does not subscribe to the electronic edition of LB (SpringerMaterials).
Database created by the Science and Engineering Library of the State University of NY at Buffalo; matches properties data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) with reference books. Please note, Argonne Research Library call numbers for the references found may differ from those listed in this database.
A great site that allows you to search for chemicals by name, molecular weight, full or partial molecular formulas, CAS registry number, ionization energy, or proton affinity. Lots of information available about chemicals, including regulatory information and pointers to other sources of information.
From the NIST Physics Laboratory. Several online databases in the areas of physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, and x-ray and gamma-ray data are listed on this page.
There is a lot of information available at this site, such as Synonyms, Molecular Formula, Molecular Weight, CAS Number, Density, EC Number, Melting Point, Boiling Point, Refractive Index, Flash Point, and NMR, IR and Raman spectra. Searchable by name, molecular formula etc.
This database contains records for over 100 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and will return a list of books that may contain this data. Caution: All of these items may not be available at ANL, and if they are, the call numbers may be different.
