Chemistry

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a product of the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC). The current edition of CSD contains bibliographic, chemical, and crystallographic data for carbon-containing molecules having up to 1000 atoms (including hydrogens). Compounds covered by the database include organics, compounds of the main group elements, organometallics, and metal complexes. The CSD includes crystal structure data from publications in the literature and Private Communications to the CSD.

The CSD is searchable by chemical name, structure, elements, molecular formula, journal and author names and other parameters.

While it is suggested that you search the web version, the library still maintains a hard copy which is available over the Argonne network through DASH.

The Power Diffraction File (PDF-2) is only available on one terminal in the library, near the Reference Desk on the 5th floor of the Bldg. 240 Library. Licensing restrictions require us to limit access to one computer.
Powder Diffraction File (PDF) is a collection of single phase X-ray powder diffraction patterns used for identification of crystalline compounds. PDF is maintained and distributed by the International Center for Diffraction Data (ICDD). New experimental patterns are added each year. PDF-2 2016 is designed for rapid and accurate phase identification with 291,119 entries. It combines the power of both powder diffraction and single crystal powder data from the ICDD, Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD), and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) database sources.