Math and Computer Science

A professional society since 1888, we advance research and connect the diverse global mathematical community through publications, meetings and conferences, MathSciNet, professional services, advocacy, and awareness programs.

A collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from the mathematics field. These were monographs that were brittle and decaying and in need of rescue. Content of Historical Math Books is now being served through HathiTrust.

The European Mathematical Information Service (EMIS) was founded in 1995 as the central portal for electronic math resources in Europe. Since then, with the support of the European Mathematical Society and many publishers, FIZ Karlsruhe has developed the largest open access electronic library in mathematics ELibM as the core of EMIS, as well as many more useful resources.

The Jahrbuch Project provides a database of the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (JFM) and a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868 -1942.

A comprehensive source of biographies and historical looks at mathematical subjects. Includes a Mathematicians of the Day page, which highlights mathematicians who were born or died on today's date.

Members include university, college, and high school teachers; graduate and undergraduate students; pure and applied mathematicians; computer scientists; statisticians; STEM professionals, and many others in academia, government, business, and industry. We welcome all who are interested in the mathematical sciences. The MAA was established in 1915.

Eprint repository of mathematics research reports and papers.

MathOverflow is a question and answer site for professional mathematicians.

The web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.

"The NIST Handbook has essentially the same objective as the Handbook of Mathematical Functions that was issued in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards as Number 55 in the NBS Applied Mathematics Series (AMS). This objective is to provide a reference tool for researchers and other users in applied mathematics, the physical sciences, engineering, and elsewhere who encounter special functions in the course of their everyday work."

"Project Euclid was developed and deployed by the Cornell University Library, with start-up funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and is now jointly managed by the Cornell Library and Duke University Press. It was originally created to provide a platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals to move from print to electronic in a cost-effective way. Through a combination of support by subscribing libraries and participating publishers, over 70% of the journal articles hosted on Project Euclid are openly available. Argonne does not subscribe to Euclid Prime.

The Interactive Statistical Pages project represents an ongoing effort to develop and disseminate statistical analysis software in the form of web pages. Utilizing HTML forms, CGI and Perl scripts, Java, JavaScript and other browser-based technologies, each web page contains within it (or invokes) all the programming needed to perform a particular computation or analysis.

"Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH) is the world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and FIZ Karlsruhe. The zbMATH database contains about 4 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from about 3,000 journals and book series, and 180,000 books. The coverage starts in the 18th century and is complete from 1868 to the present by the integration of the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" database." The classification system was updated in 2020. Argonne does not have a subscription to this database. However, the first 3 records in a search result are viewable to unregistered users. This can be very useful in verifying European/Asian based citations. Also includes the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) - a classification scheme maintained by Mathematical Reviews and zbMATH. It is used by these reviewing services and many others to categorize items in the mathematical sciences literature.