Toxicology

EPA's online warehouse of all publicly available chemical toxicity data. Allows searching from other EPA chemical toxicity databases.

From NOAA, a database of hazardous materials. Includes fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties. You can create your own database of materials and then check to see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your collection are mixed together in the Reactivity database.

The Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB) is a unique and widely used international resource of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests on 1547 chemicals.

Comparative Toxicogenomics Database is maintained by the Department of Biological Science at North Carolina State University and the Department of Bioinformatics at the MDI Biological Laboratory. "Disorders caused by external forces rather than by physiologic dysfunction or by pathogens."

A source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. toxicology (terrestrial wildlife). ECOTOX integrates three previously independent databases - AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX - into a unique system which includes toxicity data derived predominately from the peer-reviewed literature, for aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and terrestrial wildlife, respectively.

The Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) database provides an easy way to access and influence the scientific literature behind EPA science assessments. The database includes more than 600,000 scientific references and data from the peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop its regulations.

"HPVIS provides access to select health and environmental effect information on chemicals that are manufactured in exceptionally large amounts. Information in this database is submitted through EPA's High Production Volume (HPV) Challenge Program. HPVIS allows users to search for summary information, test plans, and new data on high production volume chemicals as they are developed." This links to the HPVIS login and includes the quick start and user guide.

The Household Products Database of the National Library of Medicine is based on the Consumer Product Information Database by DeLima Associates. This database links over 15,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

EPA’s IRIS Program identifies and characterizes the health hazards of chemicals found in the environment. Each IRIS assessment can cover a chemical, a group of related chemicals, or a complex mixture. Search by Chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (CASRN) or chemical name. You can also browse by human organ/system noted in the assessments.

There is information on over 1,000 hazardous and toxic chemicals in this regularly updated database; files are available only in PDF. Site hosted by the New Jersey Department of Health.

Toxnet is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. Components include factual information, toxicological literature, estimated releases of toxic chemicals to the environment and information on chemical nomenclature, identification, and structures. Hosted by U.S. National Library of Medicine.

TRI is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities.The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from facilities in certain industrial sectors, including manufacturing, waste handling, mining, and electricity generation. Facilities must also report the total amount of toxic chemicals in waste that they produce. Administered by the EPA.