BioSciences

Environmental Law Reporter is an online research tool edited by attorneys that provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy.

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.

PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Web of Science™ Core Collection provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. This is a subscription database.

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

CDC partners with the U.S. National Institutes of Health to publish biosafety guidelines for protecting workers and preventing exposures in biological laboratories. Contains full text manuals on general guidelines for implementing high quality safety programs.

"Manual compilation of biotech suppliers enabling buyers to easily source manufacturers of biotechnology equipment for cell biology, cell culture, genomics, proteomics and more. Site includes new projects, free magazines, jobs, news and events."

Use this to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Dryad is a repository of data underlying scientific publications, with an initial focus on evolution, ecology, and related fields. Dryad will allow future investigators to validate published findings, explore new analysis methodologies, repurpose the data for research questions unanticipated by the original authors, and perform synthetic studies such as formal meta-analyses.

Information on member societies, conferences, publications, career advice, membership directory, funding and up-to-date news, plus a buyers guide to products and services available on the net.

The terms and in this glossary are important to practicing biologists and paleontologists in various fields.

This site leads to PubMed, a web version of MEDLINE. PUBMED searches the more than 23 million citations in MEDLINE supplemented by pre-MEDLINE citations which do not yet have MeSH index terms, and by citations supplied electronically by publishers. There are also links to specialized databases as well as extensive references to National Institutes of Health, and NLM publications; PubMed Central; and Online Information Services.

Nature precedings is a free online service from NPG that enables researchers in the life sciences to openly share preliminary findings, solicit community feedback, and claim priority over discoveries by posting preprint manuscripts, white papers, technical reports, posters, and presentations. Started in 2007, it includes materials from biology, medicine (except clinical trials), chemistry and the earth sciences. Nature Precedings ceased accepting new submissions as of April 3rd, 2012. The full archive of existing content remains freely accessible at this site and will be maintained by NPG

NIH's policy is essentially as follows: All final peer-reviewed manuscripts arising from NIH funds are required to be submitted to PubMed Central. Submitting a final peer-reviewed manuscript usually takes less than 10 minutes.

Quantitative Biology (From arxiv.org) is an archive of preprints including but not limited to biological physics, computational biology, neural science, systems biology, bioinformatics, mathematical biology, and theoretical biology. You can subscribe to the archive and submit (p)reprints to it. Both theoretical and experimental contributions are welcome, and subscription is freely accessible over the internet to all members of the scientific community.