Transportation

"ATRA is a diverse group of people brought together by the common realization that the transportation systems of the past can not meet the transportation needs of the future, or even the present. As non-profit corporation, ATRA’s purpose is to encourage the development and deployment of advanced transportation systems that will benefit society."

"BTS is a leading source of timely, accurate, and reliable information on the U.S. transportation systems used for moving people and goods, and on their impacts on the economy, society and the environment."

Published by the National Transportation Library Bureau of Transportation Statistics. 10th edition revised in 2014.

News about "energy, technology, issues and policy for sustainable mobility." Click on Topics to browse by categories like biodiesel, fleets, plug-in hybrids, carbon capture and storage, emissions, etc.

The International Transport Forum at the OECD is an intergovernmental organization with 57 member countries. It acts as a think tank for transport policy and organizes the Annual Summit of transport ministers. ITF is the only global body that covers all transport modes.

NTL acquires, preserves and manages transportation information and information products and services for use by DOT, other Federal agencies, and the public. NTL serves as a central repository for DOT research results and technical publications.

"Charged with determining the probable cause of transportation accidents and promoting transportation safety, and assisting victims of transportation accidents and their families."

"Northwestern University Transportation Center (NUTC) is a leading interdisciplinary education and research institution serving industry, government, and the public. NUTC was founded in 1954 to make substantive and enduring contributions to the movement of materials, people, energy, and information."

One of the largest transportation information centers in the world, encompassing information on all transportation modalities, including: air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport and logistics. It includes significant collections on law enforcement, police management and traffic enforcement. Its collection of environmental impact statements is one of the most complete in the world. Nearly all of the EISs issued by federal agencies since 1969 are held, usually in draft as well as final form, plus related documents (e.g., environmental assessments, findings of no significant impact, records of decisions, supplementary reports, and maps).

Once every four years, America’s civil engineers provide a comprehensive assessment of the nation’s major infrastructure categories in ASCE’s Report Card for America’s Infrastructure (Report Card). Using a simple A to F school report card format, the Report Card provides a comprehensive assessment of current infrastructure conditions and needs, both assigning grades and making recommendations for how to raise the grades.

"The Transportation Research Board (TRB) provides innovative, research-based solutions to improve transportation. Part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, TRB is a non-profit organization that provides independent, objective, and interdisciplinary solutions." Argonne is a member of the TRB and therefore every Argonne employee can sign up for their Annual Meetings Online database. When you sign up, be sure to select the Sponsor/Patron/Affiliate account choice.

The Transport Research & Innovation Portal (TRIP), formerly known as the Transport Research Knowledge Centre (TRKC), is the one single portal for information on all transport research and innovation conducted at European and national levels.

Provided by the US Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this site serves researchers and analysts. It provides "one stop shopping" for transportation data, allows users to search over 100 databases.

Published by the Transportation Research Board. RiP contains new and recently completed projects. RiP records primarily are projects funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research also is included in the database.

TRID is world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transporation research information. It is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies. Includes records for Environmental Impact Statements held by the Northwestern Transportation Library.

The Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) leads U.S. researchers and other partners in making transportation cleaner and more efficient through solutions that put electric drive vehicles on the road and replace oil with clean domestic fuels. Through our Vehicle, Bioenergy, and Fuel Cell Technologies Offices, EERE advances the development of next-generation technologies to improve plug-in electric and other alternative-fuel vehicles, advanced combustion engine and vehicle efficiency, and produce low-carbon domestic transportation fuels.

Links to all the agencies within the DOT.

"The United States Council for Automotive Research (USCAR) was founded in 1992. Its goal is to further strengthen the technology base of the U.S. auto industry through cooperative research and development." USCAR is an umbrella organization of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, Ford and General Motors, formed to further strengthen the technology base of the domestic auto industry through cooperative research.