Environmental/GeoSciences

DOE developed the Considered Sites Database to provide information on sites that were formerly used in the nation’s nuclear weapons and early atomic energy programs, with the potential for residual radioactive contamination. Search by State and Site name. All documents are available full text.

This database updates the Annual Reports titled: Radioactive Materials released from Nuclear power plants, NUREG/CR-2907 Series. This was an Annual from 1973-1991. Volume 14 was the latest in the printed series. The current database goes back to 1998.

Provides policy, guidance, and direction for the land disposal of hazardous wastes, underground storage tanks, solid waste management, encouragement of innovative technologies, source reduction of wastes and the Superfund Program.

The Office of Water (OW) ensures drinking water is safe, and restores and maintains oceans, watersheds, and their aquatic ecosystems to protect human health, support economic and recreational activities, and provide healthy habitat for fish, plants and wildlife.

Significant New Alternatives Policy (SNAP). Substitutes are reviewed on the basis of ozone depletion potential, global warming potential, toxicity, flammability, and exposure potential as described in the final SNAP rule (59 FR 13044; file size is 967K). Lists of acceptable and unacceptable substitutes are updated several times each year. A chronological list of SNAP updates is available from the hotline.

The Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards is comprised of Federal agencies who facilitate consensus on acceptable levels of radiation risk to the public and workers and promote consistent risk approaches in setting and implementing standards for protection from ionizing radiation. This site has full text documents.

From California, an alphabetical list of toxic air contaminants that gives Persistence Time or Residence Time for air toxics. Fact sheets can be found either numerically by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry Number or the Department of Transportation (DOT) Number. If applicable, each table of contents includes the CAS# and the DOT# for each chemical.

This site contains full text of laws governing nuclear/radioactive waste management. Updated annually, it is a good source to access full text. Texts of other laws may be found directly, in Nuclear Regulatory Legislation (NUREG-0980)