The Manhattan Project: Online Resources

The Atomic Heritage Foundation (AHF) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in Washington, DC, dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of the Manhattan Project and the Atomic Age and its legacy.

The Department of Energy's Manhattan Project Podcast is a two-episode series detailing the development of the first atomic bomb and the subsequent creation of the Department of Energy.

The Manhattan Project: Resources is a joint collaboration between the Department of Energy’s Office of Classification and Office of History and Heritage Resources. This effort is designed to disseminate information and documentation on the Manhattan Project to a broad audience including scholars, students, and the general public.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has developed and made available to the public a wide range of in-print, online, and in-person Manhattan Project historical resources. These include histories, websites, reports and document collections, and exhibits and tours.

George Washington University's National Security Archive contains a number of primary sources on the Manhattan Project and the use of nuclear weapons in World War II.

The US Army's Center of Military History publication chronicles the role of the War Department, Manhattan District, and other Army agencies and individuals from 1939 through World War II in developing and employing the atomic bomb.

"Voices of the Manhattan Project" is a joint project by the Atomic Heritage Foundation and the Los Alamos Historical Society to create a public archive of oral history collections of Manhattan Project veterans and their families.

This series consists of records pertaining to the operations of the Argonne National Laboratory. Among the materials are reports, handbooks, blueprints, minutes of meetings, and correspondence. The correspondence covers a broad spectrum of topics, ranging from the scientific (e.g., the installation of cyclotrons and the development of nuclear reactors) to the administrative (e.g., personnel matters). Among the many correspondents are laboratory directors Walter Zinn and Norman Hillberry; as well as prominent figures such as University of Chicago physicists Arthur Compton and Enrico Fermi; and Army General Leslie R. Groves. The reports and abstracts detail a wide range of scientific procedures, especially with regard to the development of nuclear reactors (e.g., Chicago Pile 3, the world's first heavy-water nuclear reactor) and technological research in areas such as metallurgy and graphite testing. The records also include building plans, budget estimates, and site acquisitions.

Established in 2014, the Manhattan Project National Historical Park is a United States National Historical Park commemorating the Manhattan Project that is run jointly by the National Park Service and Department of Energy.

Argonne National Laboratory's Nuclear Engineering Division has compiled a series of short articles covering Argonne's nuclear energy legacy from the first nuclear reactor to the present

The University of Chicago Special Collections and Research Center Manhattan Project and Allied Scientists Collections contains a number of primary source documents from the Manhattan Project and scientists who worked on it.